Rideshare Assault Lawsuits in North Carolina

Rideshare Assaults in North Carolina

Rideshare assaults can occur anywhere platforms are available, including North Carolina. North Carolina passengers and drivers are at risk for rideshare-related assault on both the Uber and Lyft platforms. These assaults include physical assault, sexual assault, rape, carjacking, kidnapping and shooting.

Statistics for rideshare assaults are limited because states do not monitor them directly. Because of public scrutiny, Uber and Lyft both publish general statistics for assaults that are reported to the companies directly. For example, across its two reports, Uber revealed that over 9,000 sexual assaults, 39 fatal physical assaults and 208 fatal motor vehicle accidents were reported by users. Lyft’s report showed that over 4,000 sexual assaults, 10 fatal physical assaults and 105 fatal motor vehicle accidents were reported. The numbers in some instances, especially in the case of sexual assault, are likely higher due to underreporting.

Wherever your assault occurred in North Carolina, a qualified rideshare lawyer can help you get the justice and compensation you deserve.

Victims of Rideshare Assault in North Carolina

North Carolina passengers and drivers alike can be victims of an Uber or Lyft assault. Individuals have been victims of both rideshare-related sexual assault and rideshare-related physical assault in North Carolina. While it is important for victims to report their assault to Uber or Lyft, many find the companies’ response to the event to be inadequate when filing a report alone. That is why victims frequently turn to Uber or Lyft rideshare lawyers for further help.

Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations in North Carolina

Pursuing a case for your injury will likely be influenced by a timeline called statutes of limitations. Statutes of limitations determine how soon after an adverse event one must file a lawsuit for injuries related to that event. For instance, in North Carolina, individuals have 3 years from the date of their injury to file an Uber or Lyft lawsuit. If you are seeking to file a claim for rideshare-related wrongful death in North Carolina, individuals have 2 years from the date of death to do so. Certain conditions may extend the statutes of limitations, so it is important to speak with an experienced rideshare lawyer to inquire about filing a rideshare lawsuit in North Carolina. Request your free Case Evaluation today.

Why Hire the Meneo Law Group?

The Meneo Law Group is a team of seasoned legal professionals led by Attorney Ron Meneo. For over 25 years, Attorney Meneo has practiced law and maintained a standard of legal excellence. He and his team focus on personal injury lawsuits, including rideshare lawsuits, to ensure you get the best results for your North Carolina case. We have a proven track record and practice professional development to continue leading the way in our area of law.


Please fill in the form below, call us at 1-866-371-8506, or email us at confidentialinquiry@meneolawgroup.com to request a FREE case evaluation if you or a loved one suffered a sexual assault, a serious physical attack, or an accident as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride.

Have you or a loved one suffered a documented sexual assault or other serious physical attack as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride? *
 All personal information will be kept private. Please read our disclaimer.

Confidential Inquiry

If you prefer to speak with us directly regarding your incident, please call The Meneo Law Group at 1-866-371-8506 or send us a confidential email.