Rideshare Assault Lawsuits in South Carolina

Rideshare Assaults in South Carolina

Rideshare users in South Carolina are at risk of rideshare-related assault. South Carolina drivers and passengers have been victims of rideshare sexual assault or physical assault. Some of these events have been covered in the media. These assaults can include rape, carjacking, abduction, kidnapping or shooting.

With mounting pressure from the public, Uber and Lyft began to public safety reports. These reports offer a limited view into user reports and complaints to these ridesharing companies. Uber’s two reports showed that between 2017 and 2020, 9,000+ sexual assaults, 39 fatal physical assaults and 208 Uber-related fatal motor vehicle accidents were reported by the app’s users. From 2017 to 2019, 4,000+ sexual assaults, 10 fatal physical assaults and 105 fatal motor vehicle accidents were reported to Lyft. These numbers, especially regarding sexual assault, are likely low due to underreporting.

Whether your assault occurred in a big city or small town in South Carolina, a qualified rideshare lawyer can help you understand your legal rights.

Victims of Rideshare Assault in South Carolina

There are victims of rideshare assault throughout South Carolina. Many take the important step of reporting their case to Lyft or Uber but find the response from the company involved to be not enough. Many turn to a rideshare lawyer after not being satisfied with the initial actions taken by Lyft or Uber. The courageous actions of these survivors have contributed to changes in the policies of rideshare companies such as better screening for drivers, among other improvements.

Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations in South Carolina

Rideshare lawsuits are usually subject to timeframes within which a lawsuit must be filed after an assault incident. These are known as statutes of limitations. They are different in every state. In South Carolina, statutes of limitations most likely to apply to your case are:

  • Personal injury: 3 years from the event
  • Wrongful death: 3 years from date of death

However, there may be exceptions to these statutes or other laws that apply to your case. So, it is important to consult with a legal representative to fully understand your South Carolina rideshare assault case. A rideshare attorney can also file a rideshare assault claim on your behalf.

Why Hire the Meneo Law Group?

Attorney Ron Meneo brings over 25 years of experience to his practice of law. Attorney Meneo serves as the managing partner for the Meneo Law Group. At the Meneo Law Group, we come together as a team of legal professionals to serve our clients in specialized areas of personal injury. We also work alongside other similarly qualified law firms to improve outcomes for our clients across the nation, including those in the state of South Carolina. We treat each case we represent as unique and look forward to discussing your case with you.


Please fill in the form below, call us at 1-866-371-8506, or email us at confidentialinquiry@meneolawgroup.com to request a FREE case evaluation if you or a loved one suffered a sexual assault, a serious physical attack, or an accident as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride.

Have you or a loved one suffered a documented sexual assault or other serious physical attack as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride? *
 All personal information will be kept private. Please read our disclaimer.

Confidential Inquiry

If you prefer to speak with us directly regarding your incident, please call The Meneo Law Group at 1-866-371-8506 or send us a confidential email.