Rideshare Assault Lawsuits in Utah

Rideshare Assaults in Utah

Rideshare assaults can occur anywhere in the country, including Utah. If you were the victim of a rideshare-related sexual assault or physical assault or were hurt in an accident while using Uber or Lyft in any Utah city or town, a rideshare lawyer may be able to help you get compensation for your injury. These companies can also be held liable for rape, carjackings, kidnappings and shootings that are related to rideshare services.

Unfortunately, state statistics are unavailable, but rideshare companies do publish some data on reports of assault made in the apps. So far, Uber has released information on sexual assaults and fatal physical assaults from 2017 to 2020. In this time period, over 9,000 reports of sexual assault were made on the app, and there were 39 recorded fatal physical assaults. Lyft has only released information from 2017 to 2020. More than 4,000 reports of sexual assault and 10 reports of fatal physical assault were made on the app in that time frame.

Victims of Rideshare Assault in Utah

Both passengers and drivers have been assaulted in Utah. Victims of assault in rideshares have been sexually assaulted, raped, carjacked, kidnapped or even shot. Uber and Lyft often offer minimal assistance to these victims, so those with rideshare related injuries often turn to lawyers for additional options and support. If you a victim of rideshare assault, you may be eligible for compensation. Request a complimentary case evaluation today.

Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations in Utah

Personal injuries, including sexual or physical assault, are subject to laws called statutes of limitations. Statutes of limitations are timelines in which a victim can file a lawsuit after an injury has occurred. While each state has laws for general personal injury, sometimes extensions are applied to certain cases. For example, a sexual assault lawsuit may have a longer statute of limitations than a physical assault lawsuit. In Utah, statutes of limitations that may apply to a rideshare assault case are:

  • Personal injury: 4 years from the event
  • Wrongful death: 2 years from date of death

An experienced lawyer can help you navigate the legal process and evaluate if you have a case to bring to court. They understand statutes of limitations and other laws that may affect your Utah rideshare assault case.

Why Choose The Meneo Law Group?

Attorney Ron Meneo uses his over 25 years of law practice to lead a competent, passionate legal team. At The Meneo Law Group, we treat each case as individual and unique. Because we work on contingency, we only charge legal fees if we win your case. We partner with other law firms to bring you the best services possible in Utah and practice communication and caring for our clients to support them throughout the legal process.


Please fill in the form below, call us at 1-866-371-8506, or email us at confidentialinquiry@meneolawgroup.com to request a FREE case evaluation if you or a loved one suffered a sexual assault, a serious physical attack, or an accident as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride.

Have you or a loved one suffered a documented sexual assault or other serious physical attack as a passenger or a driver during an Uber or Lyft ride? *
 All personal information will be kept private. Please read our disclaimer.

Confidential Inquiry

If you prefer to speak with us directly regarding your incident, please call The Meneo Law Group at 1-866-371-8506 or send us a confidential email.